They Caught a Predator: I am a book molester.

July 6, 2008 at 11:56 am | Posted in Random Thoughts | 1 Comment
Tags: ,
A post secret confession.

The internet constantly reminds me that I am not alone.
Which is a nice and creepy cocktail all in one.

The above “secret” is just one of the many tidbits clinging to my synapses.

When I go into bookstores I often end up molesting the books; that is – i like to run my fingers over the covers  and the raised text, over all the books I can only afford to caress. The other day another customer, a woman, told her companion, “I can’t decide what to buy.”  and she asked me, “What are you buying?”
Sigh. “Everything.”

I used to hunker down in libraries when I was kid. But libraries have limited and slowly updated stock. Unless you know exactly what you’re looking for, it’s hard to browse. In Barnes and Noble the large finely spaced signs “Romance” “Fiction” “Teen” “Summer Reading” “Employee Recommended” are hypnotic, seductive. They tell you everything you need to know. And, unless you’re at Borders, the books are unsmudged, clean, and yet to be broken in. They smell good.
Though that’s always something the Library had: notes scribbled in margins, receipts, funny post its, bookmarks – and the less than becoming torn out pages.

I may have written this before….so handle it. I have reoccurring thoughts.

To finish a book is both a blessing and a curse.
Suicidal bliss.

The last sentence, last punctuation in a book is like falling off a train track you knew was going to end, but couldn’t stop following. It’s like teetering atop a rollercoaster 80ft drop, and feeling your heart dislocate on the start down.

You can’t stop it. And you kind of like it.

And like a mindless telletubby: again, again!
It isn’t the same: reading a book for the second time. Obviously, you know the scenery. But it’s comforting. And in a really good book, it feeds your addiction, satisfying for the moment, until the last period and the fix is over and you have to find the dealer: again, again.

I finished Garden Spells in one day this weekend. My second read. I still love it. A jacket reviewer: “This book is excellent. My only regret is that it’s not 2000 pages longer.” Aye, Aye. It’s one of those stories that wraps around your imagination and gets in your head, wiggles around and settles over everything. I got so engrossed I didn’t hear my stepmom vacuuming next to my head and when she spoke in my ear I almost toppled off of the couch. When I finished, I ran my hand over the pages in regret. I’m sorry I had to finish you, but it really wasn’t avoidable.

Alright, I have to eat dinner.

Chomp on that a bit.

Cheers.

http://www.foundmagazine.com
1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I noticed that my book wasn’t on the receipt shown above. Oh, I bet it’s on the receipt of the books that you bought and WILL read. :-))

    Paul Yeager, langaugeandgrammar.com (and author of Literally, the Best Language Book Ever)

    By the way, thanks for putting us on your blogroll, and we’ll add you to ours. Your blog is funny and intelligent.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

